Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< Day 50 >


Another long day today, but it's left me quite happy. I had fabulously successful classes this morning, so I was really sporting my Anatole France face on the way home. It's days like today that make me wonder if teaching is my true calling. We'll see if I get to do this activity at another school if it is as successful. Even Mle Dadi�s seemed to be in good spirits this morning.

Ran loads of errands including: submitting my complete dossier for the carte de s�jour, buying loukoum, cassis, wine, bread, and fixing my curtains. Almost got hit by a car in the Carrefour parking lot because I was mesmerized by two giant, brilliant rainbows curving over the shopping center. Ran into my crazy poet friend Antoine on Boulevard de Gambetta, he kissed me on the cheek three times, but I was in a hurry so we said � bient�t. (Not like the creepy "� bient�t, j'esp�re" I got from the Carca news stand guys...) I wonder what the rest of old Antoine's story is. He was the first Narbonnais I talked to here, that day sitting in the esplanade. At first I thought he was either homeless or crazy until he started telling me his life story. He told me about his published works including "L'amour de la sagesse,' how he'd been on the cover of the newspaper, how he had a daughter in college, about the month he spent with a woman from Spain, how he never married, how he was made to look so handsome on the cover of the newspaper, how it is good for young folks to marry but for him it's love and not marriage. How friendship is more important than love. I wonder if I will ever find a copy of his writing anywhere.

An actual younger homeless guy tried to kiss me on the way inside my building, but I said my boyfriend was possessive (as if). Suzy sent me a scandalous e-mail. Spent dinner through midnight at Jessica's house talking, a fair amount about sex and relationships. I'm jealous of Jessica's experience and somewhat lonely. She seems so confident and sure of her womanhood. Why can't I have that? Also, when's my crazy makeout wild time?


The things you miss at 6:51 p.m.


previous ---- next