Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 18 Feb 2003 >


Just got back from Latin. Chico was 20 minutes late, but we still had to take our quiz. I think I did pretty well, though. Must have been all that studying I did over at Theo's last night... No, but that was fun. We drew pictures and listened to music, and Theo curled up in my lap for a bit. He's so adorable when he's sleeping. And pretty much every other time too.

I'm thinking about writing a note to Hector. I know it's silly, but I can't stop thinking about not giving him his hat. You see, this is how it happened. I went to watch "Twelfth Night" in Laird Monday night (last week) for my English class. Only about seven of us showed up. When the movie was over, everybody left; I was one of the last people out of the room. I noticed a hat sitting on a desk and it looked like Hector's. I didn't think he had been wearing it when he had left. I wanted to pick it up and bring it down to him, but I was all anxious that maybe it wasn't his hat and what would I do then? So I left it there, and kept feeling like I should go back and get it all the way down the stairs.

At the bottom of the stairs, Hector was about to go outside when Stephen said, "Hey, Hector, where's your hat?" And he said, "Did I leave it upstairs?" and Stephen said, "Yeah, I think it's upstairs." Hector passed me on his way back up to get it. Why didn't I have it to hand it to him right then? It would have worked out so well. For whatever reason, I felt really bad about that, Hector having to go all the way back upstairs for his hat when I could have brought it down for him.

Later that week someone forgot their gloves in English. Hector brought them out to them.

So I'm thinking about leaving him a note in his mailbox, but I'm not sure if I should sign it or not. I think it would say, "Hector, a while ago you left your hat behind and had to go back to get it. I just wanted to say that I am really sorry I didn't bring your hat out to you, because it would have been really easy."


Tardy Chico, late-night artwork, and Hector's Hat. at 11:42 a.m.


previous ---- next