Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 24 June 2005 >


This morning I watched a red-winged blackbird bathing. It was one of the most beautiful things I've seen in a long time. Too bad they're such cranky bastards.

I took care of the animals this morning, and I noticed Boo eating sweet grass down by the ravine, so I guess both of our stomachs are feeling delicate today. Although his probably wasn't caused by shady antibiotics. Hooray Dr. Nicknish.

It is wretchedly hot in Iowa City, but things are going okay. I'm getting better at sign language and writing faster. When I went to pick up my prescription yesterday I handed the pharmacist a note with my name on it so I wouldn't have to try and pronounce it and she assumed I was both deaf and mentally ill. It was a bizarre but edifying experience, the changes in behavior prompted by assumptions, faced with silence.

Last night spent a delightful evening with Hillary and Zoe at Hamburg Inn and around dowtown. We hung out on the hot marble benches behind the Old Capital building and watched the river, the stars, the joggers. Stopped at the Java House and hiked around until Zoe got tired.

Today I have slept a lot. I guess to make up for the miserable non-sleep I experienced last night. On the solstice I went out into the middle of the cornfield to the East of our house and lit a white candle at Gabriel's hour to hope for better health. Also, it was a primo spot for watching the Lune Rose rise. Quite the brilliant spectacle, but sporting a camera would have felt pretty awful, so I'll just have it burned in my memory for a while. I drew the storm card... would have done a more detailed reading but I got scared off by audible heavy breathing in the woods. Could have been a cow, I suppose, since I was in their turf, but the cougars are coming back to Iowa and knowing my experience with stalker perverts I didn't want to take any chances. High-tailed it home.

Today I dreamt of tornadoes again, only this time things were compounded. It started with one enormous funnel cloud, but separated into at least four twisters. Impressive, and this time they didn't actually sweep me away, so I guess that's a relief.

Tara called, but sadly I can't call her back. Hopefully one of the other girls will inform her of my infirmity. There's talk of going to see that horrendous movie again, and I think that might be just what I need. Also, I need to go empty the dishwasher. No work for me yet, but I did get paid 60 dollars by the college for the book I made. Kind of exciting to have sold a work of art...


Not entirely distressing house arrest at 4:50 p.m.


previous ---- next