Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< Day 42 >


It was a long but successful day, I'd say. Left at 7:15 to walk to my first school and made it without slipping and had lots of extra time for photo copies and cutting and such. Got bisous from the alternative recess supervisor and was invited to tutoyer most of the teachers. I'm a colleague now! Figured out finally that Aur�lie works at both Lakanal and Jean Mac�. The classes went surprisingly well given that I slept last night, and the CE2s were so cute and super excited about singing. I love being able to use extra language practice as an incentive for them to work. Pierre-Louis not as unruly as usual, either. CM1 somewhat rushed because of the early recess, but okay. Left in good time and had pancakes for lunch and managed to get to my bus stop early for the afternoon trek. It was funny walking through town at 1:30 and seeing everything (even the tabac!) closed, though I suppose it was a Monday too. Have started enjoying the walk down Pont des Marchands more since finding out it's built on top of the original Roman structure, and since the shoe store changed its window display so I have more boots to drool over. Hopefully by winter...

At Jean Mac� I caught hunky Monsieur Feixa and one other young teacher playing a rowdy game of soccer in the teachers' lounge knocking over coffee cups and everything, snuck away to send an e-mail to Suzy and got snagged by M. Fuent�s who was, as always, quite chatty and full of advice. The older classes went more or less without a hitch except one kid accidentally saying "sex" instead of "six" set off a fit of giggles and blushing that lasted the rest of the hour. I seem to have a one student fan club now - I think she is in Karine Bauza's CE2 class. When I arrived on the playground she squealed and hugged and kissed me, then asked for a kiss again on the way out. I would be weirded out if I weren't in France, the country that is so kissy that it has kisses named after it. (Just for a cultural point of reference, today at the bus stop I saw two tough-looking high school boys kiss each other several times on the cheek to say "see ya later". Can you imagine that happening in W's America? I think not.) In CE2 that afternoon this poor girl started crying because the class laughed when she suggested "sandwich" as a way to say hello, and I didn't even notice until her nighbor said something about it and I had to do some quick group counseling. It seemed to work since five minutes later someone said "sandwich" and she was laughing. This of course had to happen in M. Feixa's class, who nonetheless told me he thought it was a great class and they seemed very entertained which of course left me feeling rather chuffed for the bus ride home. All my trouble makers were polite today too! I love how they all stand up and get quiet when any adult enters the room. Makes me think of Mr. Darcy.

Stopped by the post office and got home around 6:30. Ate crackers, drank hibiscus gingerale and nodded off in front of Ast�rix and Ob�lix for a good hour or two. Mustered up enough energy to make myself some eggs and English muffin, had my daily ration of turkish delight, and a self-indulgent moment of loneliness. Fatigue conquers all, however, especially in conjunction with anticipatory work stress, so my early classes at Anatole France order me to bed. It's a long trek across the train tracks tomorrow.


Odessey and Oracle at 6:39 p.m.


previous ---- next