Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 4 April 2006 >


Yesterday I decided to bring some knitting to school. I wanted to look up the details of a new technique on the school computer, and this way I figured I could try it out and make sure I understood. I already had all my copying done, so I had all of recess to grapple with the stitch.

So I'm sitting there in the teachers' lounge with my back to the sunny playground, a pile of house vocab handouts in front of me, a tiny muddle of silver wool in my lap. Gisele (my boss/the principal) and I had been talking about knitting when Olivier (the scruffy one Hillary thinks is hot) came in. He did an exaggerated double take and asked incredulously, "You're knitting??" Without missing a beat, Gisele jumped in and chortled, "She's knitting herself a thong."

The idea was so absurd that I didn't even bother to refute it, and that decision was followed by Olivier standing there staring at me for a solid thirty seconds, at which point Gisele glibly added, "He's trying to picture you in it." This was perhaps one of the most embarrassing moments of my teaching career.

I was just weeding through some old e-mails trying to find my crafster password (I know, exciting life I have...) and I ran across an old e-mail to Kelsey which ended:

P.S. Did I mention that the guy who wrote the first Rambo book is stalking my parents?

Haha, that was a crazy time, wasn't it?

Bohemian rhapsody is playing in the cyber cafe, it's uber windy and quiet out tonight, and it's all good.


Wool bikinis: Flirting with disaster at 8:10 p.m.


previous ---- next