Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 10 April 2006 >


Crossing the esplanade on the way home I spy two young bucks dropping something into the canal. On the bridge I pause to look down at the water, and a flaming book of poetry dedicated to l'amour et l'amiti� drifts by, the singed holes filling with murky ripples.

It was cold and super windy today. I just got asked to have coffee with a complete stranger - the guy sitting accross from me at the cyber caf�. I had no idea that the windblown eight-year-old look was what Frenchmen are going for these days!

Today at Jean Mac� a nearby preschool came over to show off their Carnaval costumes (albeit a bit late) and the kids had the joy of mercilessly launching fistfulls of confetti at my face, and I had the pleasure of a shortened class period and getting to watch tiny adorable children in hilarious costumes. I saw batman castrate a moustached gladiator with his own sword; there was a toddling spiderman whose pectoral muscles were so inflated and bulky that they impeded proper arm and head movement, and a little ecstatic blonde girl in a chain maille tunic and a coonskin cap toting a bright pink princess sceptre/fairy wand. I envied her stylistic freedom.

I had long, fun, enthusiastic Q&A sessions with the kids during recess followed by sullen, distracted, edgy and violent students in Madame M�line's class.

Spent a long time today contemplating the future. I feel like no matter when adulthood happens it's going to spring on me like a well-hidden trap. None of the gradual "when did it actually start?" easiness of puberty. It's going to be sudden, and it's going to be soon.

On a side note - something really disconcerting? I have calluses on my fingers.


From knitting. at 6:42 p.m.


previous ---- next