Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 8 May 2006 >


First steps on my great journey to become less lazy: on Sunday I finally ventured out in my "work out clothes" and headed upstream along the canal, walking/jogging for a solid hour before I turned around to start back. On the way I ran into few people, most were on the opposite bank.

Noteworthy exceptions:

fishermen (Jess and I had the misfortune of seeing a monster of the deep floating near the surface today - it was frighteningly huge even compared to what I originally feared)

a muskrat

a homeless man's growly dog who gave me permission to pass when I asked nicely

two older women with walking sticks who asked if I was walking alone, said I ought to have a companion, that this side of the canal is "plus sauvage" and in general made me feel like I was in a fairy tale and about to find myself surrounded by enchanted beasts and sorcery, an exciting prospect for the rest of my journey.

Before heading home I picked a wild poppy and threaded it through the ring on my finger.


Nature, like the creepy furrier in "Seven Doors to Death," loves to adorn women at 7:06 p.m.


previous ---- next