Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 8 October 2003 >


From the perspective of this evening, today is one of those days that can not be spoiled. The weather is gorgeous--it's comfortably warm outside with that strong encouraging breeze that I love so much. A beautiful autumn day with awesome flaring leaves swirling all around while I'm coasting to class. They'd get stuck in my bike tires and make the greatest noises and then fly out to go all over the place. Fantastic.

This morning I had to go to the doctor who didn't listen to me and smelled funny, and I didn't have time to shower, but I finished my linguistics assignment and was even EARLY to class. Can you believe it? AND Doctor Tiff (as my Linguistics professor prefers to be called, ha) told me the greatest thing ever. She said she was reading my answer to our latest linguistic puzzle assignment and went, "Holy Shit, this is awesome!" because I randomly came up with floating tones and we haven't really been taught that concept. She asked if I had taken a phonetics class before, and I replied in a Strong-Bad voice, "No, I'm just awesome." At least that's what happened in my head. In reality, I stayed pretty quiet, but she actually DID say that about my work! I was so happy... Especially since I then went directly to make an ass of myself in French class, having not done the reading. Woops. However! All things being balanced in this world, I discovered that Mei Chin signed up to have lunch with me! How nice!

So, my dad (also known as LEON) called this morning (it's his birthday) to tell me he sent me a HUGE amount of GUM. My dad is the weirdest, coolest person ever. He doesn't talk to me forever except sending me this crazy uber-formal letter typed (presumably by his secretary) on his letterhead that he just signed, and then he calls to say he's sending me massive quantities of GUM?? And it's not just any gum, folks, it's VINTAGE gum. BEEMAN'S. BLACK JACK. THis man is crazy, and it makes me really glad to know where I get it from. (I sent three pounds of peachy penguins to Theo for valentines day. What is it with the Spies family and random bulk orders of candy for other people?) I always thought my sister operated more like my dad on an emotional level, but this last week she told me the opposite. Maybe neither of us wants to be as man-ish (stereotypically speaking) about things as he is, but I imagine we both have it a little bit. Earlier when I was working on his birthday card I put a picture of my relative August Spies who was wrongly executed by hanging on the front. What followed was a lot of bad puns like, "Hope your birthday is free of hang-ups" or "Don't just hang around on your birthday!" I love insensitive humour.

My bike is now my dog. I've been walking it around, petting it when I park it, looking at it adoringly. I think deep down, I actually miss Boo. He's softer and fuzzier, but my bike is just this much *a little bit* prettier and it doesn't bite me. So now, everybody, I have a dog.

Let's see...

In History Bill North gave me a great facial expression because I brought up Pythagorean Mysticism, and I gave myself one because I realized he's like a popple/slinky/dashboard-ornament when he gives lectures. It's very entertaining.

I had a meeting about hoomestays in the LDC and met this girl named Mack who is astoundingly successful for blurring gender lines. She is really cool, too. I then went to dinner and sat first with awkwardly silent Pat and Lisa until later joined by TJ who confessed he is a genius. That guy is fun to talk to, but I always end up talking too much AT him because I get nervous. Why can't excellent LISTENING be my reflex instead of incessant CHATTERING?

Headphones guy didn't hold the door open for me today, but another headphones guy showed up while I was walking home from dinner. At first I thought it was Dave Farina, and my strongest impulse was to scowl at him. But, it being such a beautiful day, I couldn't BEAR to be so unpleasant! So I had a decent smile on my face and I decided to be charitable and look up, and *enter music of the spheres* he had morphed into really cute nice boy! What a great way to end the day.

So here we are, doing laundry, playing DJ, me not doing my paper of course... But all is well.

Cheers.


Holy Crap the Bike-Dog! at 8:13 p.m.


previous ---- next