Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 18 January 2005 >


Do you ever have days when your face stops making sense? When you look at your reflection and you can tell that it's a face because it has all the right parts: two eyes, a nose, a mouth, but they are empty eyes, a nose without shape, a mouth without meaning. These are days when I can't say that I know myself anymore. Is this a sign that I'm getting older, that I've been so busy catching up with time that time has passed and I haven't grown with myself enough to notice the changes until now? Or do we maybe have days when we just have less substance, less vitality giving definition to our features? Everything else is cyclical, identity is forever evolving, maybe the force or clarity of physical identity varies too. My mom always tells me that when I was a baby, up until maybe 4 or 5 years old, that I was blurry around the edges. That there was something not quite solid about me. I wonder if that quality is coming back. If so, what made it go away? What happened to bring it around again? I think of anything this proves to me the separation of body and spirit. Yes they are connected, but not consistently. Maybe on days like this I am spiritually closer to something else more than my body. Maybe I need something or somebody to bring me back down.

But sadly, I have too much thinking work to do to romance my soul back into place.


Blurry around the edges at 3:37 p.m.


previous ---- next