Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 20 March 2003 >


Well, here I am, back at the ol' shack in Iowa City. So far I have slept at least 12 hours every night. Yes, my feet still hang off the end of my bed. I've been eating, reading the poetry of Alfred de Musset, trying to write with my left hand, and watching really REALLY bad movies. *shakes head* Where has my taste gone? "Blood Surf"... *muttering*

At least while we were staying at Caitlin's we watched "Shipping News" and I really liked that. I slept with mom in Cal's new, bigger bed. I tried to sleep, at any rate. I was hot and kept listening to the city noise. So in the middle of the night I finally got up and paced for a while, then laid down on the floor near her window. I fell asleep there on the rug until sometime in the morning, when I got up and hauled myself back into bed so mom wouldn't worry. I stayed awake for the whole ride home!

I got a B+ in History even after that awful awful final! and an A- in english and an A in latin. Better than last term!

When I got home, my first activity was taking that horrid puzzle off of my wall. I pried at it for a while until it finally caved. um... The wall doesn't *really* need paint there, does it? Maybe I'll try and find something nice to cover it. For now I just taped a bunch of antique chinese book pages all over the place. Meh, that's the best I can do. At least Dad didn't seem to notice any difference the whole time he was in there awkwardly trying to make conversation... He has enlisted me once again to fix his computer. I wish he didn't expect me to know everything because then he gets mad when I can't fix it. How am I supposed to know how it works if I've never even used that program before?? Oy.

Today I took a shower. I was so proud of myself! And I emptied the dishwasher, and then rummaged around in the basement listening to Talulah Gosh. You'll never guess, I found some hot pink rollerskates!! So I took my Talulah Gosh and I took my rollerskates and I took my nerdy socks and mailman pants right out into the garage and into the world! I rollerskated for about an hour, I figure. The weather was great with a super fun breeze and Faye and Everett were mowing their lawn (as usual) and (it seemed to me) taking turns just riding the mower up and down the street. I mean, really. I guess things here in Iowa City aren't that exciting on a daily basis. I decided my outdoorsy exercise time was enough to exempt me from walking the dog. It totally was. Yay!!

Hannah called me tonight and we're planning to go downtown tomorrow. That means driving mom to work at 8:30 a.m.! I hope I can find somebody else who's home on break to join us. It's going to be too cold to sit out and try to make money in the ped mall with Hannah's fiddle. That was plan number one. Plan number two is the art museum. Ah, memories of Kim and Zoe and "senior photo shoot"... I guess maybe we'll go to the library (I can look for embroidery books, finally!) and the post office. Maybe the sun will be out enough that we can goof around the park and the Shakespeare theatre or something.

I miss everybody from school. But I have to admit, the break is nice. I feel kind of like I'm in high school again. Strange, but kind of a releasing of duties. OH, and the Sci-Fi network is airing Roswell reruns. Everything is in my favor, eh?


watching dave in search of turkish delight at 10:22 p.m.


previous ---- next