Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 20 october 2004 >


It is after midnight. Instead of working on my presentation for tomorrow, I just spent the last half hour eating a full pot of macaroni on the floor of our room because I didn't want my floormates to know that I eat with the giant mixing spoon. Actually, I don't really care if they know that I eat with the giant mixing spoon, I just didn't want them to SEE me eating with it. It can get pretty awkward-looking with a spoon that big. Lately I have been super self-conscious about the loudness of my chewing. I didn't used to be this painfully aware of it, so now I wonder if my chewing just spontaneously got louder or if my hearing is improving. Seeing how often I misunderstand what people say (Suzy feels me), I'm going to say it's the former.

Quick recap of the weekend, perhaps...

Friday night went to the cow, and the bass and drums booming into my body through the wooden booth made me feel touch/passion starved. Combine that with drinking a ginormous glass of cider and it equals fidgety and not very clear-headed. Theo turned me down, though, or didn't accept fast enough, so I came home and went to bed awake and unsatisfied. Other than that, the concert was amazing. It was a spectacular evening.

Saturday night was spent at Adam's birthday party with his semi- (the jury is still out) creepy dad who leaned over me and talked about having an addictive personality. Then I worked on my costume at the library while Theo did his art homework, then we went back to the townhouse. Played violent video games with superfluous commentary on my part, but still went to bed early. Had a good time; only sustained minor injuries. Friday night's irrationalities well taken care of temporarily.

Sunday morning cooked breakfast with Theo for David and Emily; I felt socially awkward, but we ate well. Spent the afternoon sleeping, being around Theo. That night went to see "Grease" at Sumo with Robyn and the girls. I was inclined to keep making fringe for my dress, but I went along for the company. At the theater, the following conversation was heard:

Allison: I wish I had something to work on, like my costume, but it's too dark in here.

Suzy: You can fiddle with my bra...

To be noted: Suzy's bra was in my pocket. She'd taken it off earlier, and I was holding onto it for her until we got back to the room. Still, somebody besides me has got to see the humor in that... We all need to acknowledge one day what a comic genius she is.

The rest of midterm break passed in a pretty blur of procrastination except for the watching of "La Boum" which was as fantastic as usual.

Today I had the best TA session of all time (with students throwing things with enthusiasm) except that Brandon was still 20 minutes late and Paul only showed up at the very end to turn in his workbook. I don't get observed until Thursday, which means it is going to be awful.

Skipped badminton for AHA projects. Feeling sad about that, but happy to have had time for lunch. Now am worried about my presentation tomorrow--won't be getting much sleep before class, it seems, but I'm planning to work in the morning instead of feeling lonely at night as usual.


Emperor Tomato Ketchup Strikes Back at 12:33 a.m.


previous ---- next