Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 19 October 2003 >


Today I witnessed a lot of magical or otherwise surreal things. For instance: a tiny adorable red squirrel trying everything to get into Scoville. I would've believed it was some crazy academic who left their key card in the Write Place and then was suddenly hindered by being transformed into a very small, very not-strong-enough-to-open-the-door squirrel. It successively tried tapping at one window, prying open the door, searched for openings in the other window, climbed the doorway arch looking for another entrance... Then it spotted me and hid behind the stair railing. It was the darndest thing, like it realized it had been caught trying to break in. It had all-too-human expressions and movements. With a squirrely twist, of course. Very bizarre.

Secondly, I saw a huge cart of media equipment walking down the sidewalk by the concert hall. It rolled down past the greenhouse, turned the corner and slowed to a stop across from the Mudd courtyard. It also appeared surprisingly self-conscious for a stack of machinery.

Thirdly, I saw Patrick Ryan out of his room. Amazing! He joined us for a movie. I hope that boy is doing okay. He chats to me and Suzy frequently on IM, but he always seems pretty down (not that that's unusual) but he's also never outside! I think we need to give him a makeover or something.

I woke up after a really disturbing/disorienting dream that was too violent and weird for my tastes. It ended with me cornered in a dark room surrounded by the bodies of my three roommates whom I had killed in self defense with awful weapons like a makeshift axe and wire and things, and I kept failing to dial 911 correctly and I was trying to protect my very real-feeling cute baby. When security finally got there I was sent to a safe distance across the street with my little one, but then the man who lived in the house there (who looked eerily like Terry Rivers) was trying to take my baby. It was very threatening. But I woke up to Theo saying hello, and it was 1 p.m. and I had slept like in a coma for another extended period of time... I really wonder if I should worry more about that.

This Friday was our Toga party and it was a smashing success despite a minor alcohol crisis. Even "BNET" who spent the rest of the night being sick in the girl's bathroom said it was great. Our RA Max showed up and borrowed our tie-dye sheet for a toga too. There was dancing and drinking and Animal House galore. Jeremy Carr, who I admit looked pretty good for wearing that Myers sign, gave copious compliments and even danced with me at DJ Spooky. I'm certainly not going to complain, but I ended up having a dream that Theo was super jealous and grilling me about whether or not I'd objected to the attention. I think in the dream I convinced myself that I had. Now it's weird seeing him in person. Did I mention earlier that I had a sex dream about Eminem? That is about the craziest thing ever. At the end of the night I was actually being pretty silly, and painlessly happy. Theo walked me to his place, and we had a really nice night. We got to sleep in grossly late, and we managed to recapture a little of the Ely timelessness. We showered and he bought me a giant breakfast/dinner at Hogan Bros. It was incredibly nice to have that much time together again.

Last night I dragged Suzy and Theo to Mei Chin's party at 6th and College and we danced our hearts out. It was fun to see Mei and her place, and I realized that many of her movements remind me of Zoe. She seemed happy that we came, so that's good. I think I need to stop talking about her though, because Suzy's giving me a hard time. (Just kidding, Sue--I know you're just calling me on my obsessiveness.) We went to Hill for Adam's birthday party and my energy level plummeted. It was still a good time, but I was pretty exhausted and feeling a little weird and out of place. We ordered a pizza back at Burton, and I went to bed VERY ready to sleep.

I am now VERY uninclined to do work.

Hilde picked out my clothes today; she got me to finally wear my cute red shoes. It was fun not having to worry about clothes myself. I went for a walk by myself around campus for a while, really appreciating wading through the dry leaves, enjoying the sunshine. It was a gorgeous day, a lot like yesterday afternoon. I had been walking home from Theo's to shower, and I took a break to sit on the sleeping lion and contemplate a stray buckeye I'd found. So relaxed and blissful.

Yesterday before Mei's, Suzy and I rough-housed. It was pretty loud and funny. Suzy ruled as "Better Baby."

I'm thinking maybe I'll fix myself a box of mac and cheese, to fuel my wait. Theo is going to give me a signal when he's done enough work and I can come visit. Not sure if I'm sleeping over yet or not; my inclination is yes, but I know I need to work tomorrow. Which means get up. Ugh.

Sorry it's been so long since I've posted. Guess I've kind of been living life under a veil of toile--even time is significantly blurred down here. Don't know how I feel about that exactly, but my attitudes are in a transition state.

Here's to another 5 weeks.

Love,

Allison

P.S. Suzy said something that made me laugh really hard today: "I look like Oscar the Grouch. But he smells better than me, probably." I want to go back and read that later to see what was so funny.


lengthy: of parties and animated hardware at 11:26 p.m.


previous ---- next