Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 17 Feb 2003 >


Today is awesome.

I scrambled to finish this really poorly-written response paper and was subsequently 10 minutes late to English class. I didn't even start my Latin homework and slept through class. I missed breakfast despite my best intentions. BUT!

There was a prospective student visiting in English this morning, and he asked for directions to Cowling from me right before I went to Sayles. Instead of vaguely pointing him in the right direction and getting my stuff done I said, "Hey, my dorm's that way. Why don't I walk you?"

It turns out he was going to visit my boss because he's into soccer and Bob's the coach. I told him about broomball and he asked about on-campus jobs. We talked about people being friendly and driving in big cities. He's from Boston; he's been here since Saturday, and he flies back this afternoon. He stayed in Goodhue (he wondered why everybody laughs when he says that) and Musser. We both like being able to write on the walls. He was a really nice guy and it was fun to help him out.

I find it nice to exchange interesting personal stories without knowing names. Somehow if somebody knows your name it makes you more afraid to give them details, like they're going to be able to look you up and know where you live and leave you creepy phone messages. But if you don't ask somebody's name before you start talking to them, they can really open up.

And that's why my day is awesome. I showed somebody where to go and warmed them up in February. They took me somewhere unexpected and told me about their life. And I didn't know their name, and they didn't know mine.


anonymous conversation at 12:06 p.m.


previous ---- next