Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 17 Feb 2003 >


Today I met a very lucky squirrel.

I accomplished so much this afternoon! I paid bills; I checked my mail; I cleaned my parts of the room and stayed organized! I returned my library book and even stockpiled juice from the snack bar so I won't get thirsty later in the week.

You see, a girl was riding her bicycle down a hill, shouting "Hi-Ho Silver!"...

I am so excited about my packages coming. I ordered two CDs and two movies! I can't believe I actually found a copy of La Boum on DVD somewhere... True, it's a Chinese copy, but I can just watch it in French and still love it. I really hope it gets here safe and sound. On the other hand, I think I spent too much money. My plan now is to work a lot over Spring Break, try not to spend too much more, and sell my Calculus book if things get tight. I'll be sad to lose it, though. I guess when I'm older maybe I can find math books at the library? I hope so, because I like math.

...and as she passed between myself and, presumably, a friend of hers who she slapped on the back, a chubby-ish squirrel came bolting from the lawn beside Mudd hall of science...

Tonight I really need to study Latin! I work from 5-7 tonight which I think means I'll try and eat dinner at 4:45. I wonder if anyone will be awake to go with me! Everyone is sleeping all the time in my room.

...and ran right in front of her wheel! It was amazing, how close that little squirrel was to instant death.

Especially because I didn't do my Latin homework that was due today, I need to study. And I especially especially need to study because our Unit 6 quiz is tomorrow and I keep forgetting which 3rd declension nouns are i-stems and which ones aren't. If I'm going to keep up my good test record I better get cracking!

As she rode on, the squirrel stopped in the next stretch of snowy grass and started eating a nut.

Tonight the plan is that Theo will meet me sometime probably after 11 to strap on a bunch of pillows and have a wrestling contest on the ice rink. I want to wear my skates, but I'm afraid I'll spear one of the pillows. Or somebody's face.

I wonder if there are moments I have already forgotten when I had near escapes with the proverbial front tire of a speeding bicycle. I wonder how many times I only remember how good that nut was.

Ian called from Kuwait this morning and he could only say that they are "in training" because that's what they're supposed to say. He talked a lot about hot women who want him and ignored me when I tried to tell him things. I feel for the boy, I swear I do, but sometimes I just get tired of being interrupted so he can say, "and all these older women were like, 'I only want to be with you tonight' and I was like I know you do!" Ran into Joe outside Leighton. Boy, was that weird. Fleeting conversation and no farewell, and no interest whatsoever in anything un-him-related. What is the deal? I guess I haven't been miss pretty princess in the friendship department where he stands, either, but if he's gonna do that I'd rather he didn't holler at me like he's loved me for a million years in the first place.

Man, was that squirrel lucky!


intermittent details with a story about a squirrel at 3:30 p.m.


previous ---- next