Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 7 December, 2004 >


It is a dreary, rainy morning, and I'm promised to work a full eight hours at least at the candy store today. I just got back from taking my dad to work, and on the way home I flipped on the radio. The only two songs that played the whole way back were "Have you ever seen the rain" and "Get a job." I guess that about sets the mood for the day.

Last night I fell asleep while I was on the phone with Sara. I feel kind of bad about it, but I was exhausted, and I was actually a little anxious to get off the phone. She was making some racist remarks, and even though I told her what I thought about that, it doesn't do much to try and talk her out of her upbringing. I sure do worry about her and that baby.

Anyway, I should be ready for a productive week after the revelries of this weekend. I drove over to Ames on Friday night (after a big splurge at the antique mall, which I couldn't resist--most of it for my sister) and stayed with Tara at her house. We got a fabulous dinner at a Mexican restaurant, then went to a bar called "Sips" with some of her sorority sisters where a boy named Adam faked an Australian accent and bought us a drink. The song "Too Close" came on. That was hilarious. Then we left for a house party being held by one of the Betas--their brother fraternity. Tara's sorority is a latina sisterhood, so at the party they played spanish music almost exclusively. It was scary since everyone seemed to know how to dance professionally. I did my best, though.

Tara got pretty toasted on Dos Equis, so I let her do her thing with the wild dancing, and I chatted with a nice boy who asked for my number. I don't remember his name. Woops. He seemed like a good kid, a grad student working on stem cell research.

I dragged Tara home at 3:00 a.m. and hit the couch. Carlos came over as I was falling asleep. I don't know when she finally got to bed, but we left around 10:00 for Decorah.

Tara told me that in high school she always felt like my boyfriend. Protective.

Four hours later... We picked up Hillary from a friend's house and went back to her place where Charlie and Elena were watching "Hercules." I actually saw that movie in theaters. Crazy. Had a lovely chicken and wild rice dinner on Hillary's parents.

The Messiah was amazing, of course. Hillary's solo was breathtakingly beautiful, as was she, and the enormous chorus shook the walls with the Hallelujah. It was almost enough to inspire religion. Repeatedly during the concert I got full-body shivers just from the music.

We skipped out early from the schmoozing reception to go get donuts and cheesecake and oreos and booze. I don't know which one we consumed more of, in the end... But it was, as I would expect, a rowdy good time with those two and with Hillary's wonderful friends (oh John and Jackson...) who came to join us. I feel at liberty to say more things around them, mostly because they're so crass by themselves. Ended up in bed (dressed) with Tara and Drew who is lusting after her; Hillary came home from walking Brian home to join us, and Drew's roommate Troy showed up (shirtless) because Drew called him complaining that he couldn't open his beer. Troy is my favorite person--he was dressing up in Hillary's jewelry and singing along to Hercules and eating everything, which is pretty much what I do all the time.

After the boys finally stumbled out, (it nearly took the "jaws of death" to get Drew out of the sleeping bag with Tara), the three of us girls climbed in together to sleep. Nice and comfy.

Had to get up insanely early to get Tara back to Ames, so I napped on her couch once we got there, and headed home around 4:30 in the pounding rain.

Which brings me back to today with the rain... Here's hoping I last until 6:00 on my feet.

So Samuel Adams wrote a book called "The Gorgeous Hussy." Who knew?


radio oracle at 7:28 a.m.


previous ---- next