Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 4 July 2005 >


The Passion of Saint Joan is on tv tonight. In addition to claustrophobic, that movie always makes me feel very humble. Maybe I over empathize, but I usually come out of it feeling like I should be comforted because of the prosecution I've faced. Perhaps this is the same phenomenon which leaves me seeking cushy domesticity after any movie from the 1950s. I need to stop watching films. Otherwise, I might end up like Mona, that old woman who lived in my piano teacher's basement. She thought everything she saw on tv was happening to her. I can see how the trip to the moon and things like that could be pretty fuckin awesome, but mostly I think it would be traumatic. I mean, imagine living a car dealer commercial... Good God, we're under siege!!!!

Speaking of under siege, Hillary and I had to cancel our canoe trip today because of ominous weather. Of course I only noticed the lightning immediately after having my mom slather my back with sunscreen. The 'rents ran off to shop in the Amanas, so Hilly and I decided to make the most of the thunder and went to see a matinee of "War of the Worlds." I have to say I enjoyed the natural disaster elements, and while I appreciated the realistic ending, I was still a little disappointed. And the Robbie character may have just made up for the two gaping discontinuities Hillary and I spotted.

After the film we went to her apartment and looked at photos, then wandered around jazz fest, ate delicious vendor food (i.e. barbequed pork on a stick) on the steps in front of the natural science building and watched the babies and potential future husbands. What can I say? There have been a LOT of 1950s movies on tv. I got to play with a puppy that was a miniature, cuter version of Queequeg. SO soft! And it liked me too, which was a bonus. I almost snatched it and hid it in my bag, but then the thought of actually owning a dog that small made me feel kind of ill about myself.

After a brief break just lying in the grass on Bloomington street and watching the bats and bugs and talking about opera, Hill and I headed out. Ended up at Tara's after some cranky phone calls. Tara's mom bought me some sheets covered in French text as a graduation gift, which I am super excited about-- it'll be just like when I used to fall asleep on top of my reading for class in college. *sigh* Also, it's for a queen size bed which gets me pretty excited about eventually having my own place and a big girl bedroom... Hoo boy.

Watched some HGTV and then called it a night. Tomorrow is the fourth of July, which basically means a lot of traffic and a lot of barking. I'm planning to lay low for the hot part of the day, then maybe spend some time with the kids. Who knows, maybe I'll even get my room cleaned out if my parents leave. (Don't want them leering over my shoulder when I dump everything into the hallway and start blasting the music...

I guess there's not much other news in the neighborhood this weekend. Next week I'll start work at the bureau. I saw Jake and Brian from high school downtown today--second flashback spotting of the summer! Hillary called me adorable; that was a particular highlight of the evening. Ooooh!! How could I forget!? In addition to the babies and dogs downtown, On the way from my house to the highway I saw seven, count them, SEVEN furry critters. It went something like this: CUTEST DAMN BABY RACCOON EVER, black kitten, gray kitten, baby raccoon, orange cat, ANOTHER baby raccoon, then Mama raccoon. So many baby animals today!


It's a mommy hormone overdose at 12:38 a.m.


previous ---- next