Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 6 July 2005 >


Today has been a good day. Last night I got to talk to Theo twice, which was wonderful, of course. I decided not to go to the wedding after all, since I'm not certain who all will be there, and because that will spare my parents some. And save money, of course. I feel sad about it, though. Mostly because David came to my comps talk and made such a fuss over my coming to his comps night out, and I feel guitly about never taking him up on that lunch/dinner deal. He said I should invite him to a meal. I don't know why I never did. It would have been nice, I imagine, talking one-on-one. For as little as I really know David if I think about it, I sure do like the kid.

I worked for Dad this afternoon sorting four enormous stacks of journals and photocopies and miscellaneous unidentifiable papers. I am really afraid that the library shelves are going to fall on me. They are leaning precariously forward, and keep in mind they collapsed on my dad a few years ago... It's not out of the realm of possibility.

Stopped at the grocery store on the way home from the office, just to pick up a couple things. When I turned in the aisle for some applesauce, there was this smiling little girl sitting in a cart waving at me. So I smiled and waved back, then hurried along since I didn't want her mom to think I was creepy. I'm always very self-conscious about that. Just when I was smuggling a jar into my basket I heard the little girl say, "Mama! She's pretty!"

It was kind of a weird thing to overhear. Especially since the kid piped up with the same line twice. I blushed about to my hairline, but tried not to acknowledge that I'd heard. Funny that earlier today I was feeling oafish. I guess sometimes it just takes a different perspective. Trying not to let it go to my head, which isn't hard at all since reflective surfaces keep confirming my own impressions. Still, I never would have imagined.


Bewildered in the supermarket at 7:11 p.m.


previous ---- next