Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 23 August, 2003 >


I am too disoriented to write a proper entry, so I'm pasting particles from e-mails I recently composed for other parties. Things are spinny, and I'm breathing slow and deep, looking out over the vast landscape that is my schedule for the next week. I know where I have to go, and how far it is, and what obstacles I will face, but I still have half a mind to stay right where I am and just watch the sky for a while.

Email to Theo:

I just wanted to say I'm thinking of you, and I hope you're having a really great time.

Tonight I danced salsa with some guy downtown who spun me like crazy and kept tossing me around and it was really fun even though I got dizzy and I don't know his name but I decided I never want to date a really good salsa dancer because they are WAY too controlling.

After one dance, I went home.

Tomorrow I'm going to buy fabric and some MP3 recording software (hopefully). Zoe is going to use my tape deck, and Hillary and I are going canoeing.

Then I work sunday, monday, tuesday, wednesday, thursday, friday, saturday, sunday, and then I don't know what the schedule is after that.

I miss my sister, and I miss you, but in the way that I'm not sad about it, but I know I'm going to be really happy when I see you.

Sending lots o' love and affection,

Allison

______________________________

Here is my quick summery summary:

(What Allison did on her summer vacation):

--went to the Boundary Waters with Theo where he set off the fire alarm at 5 a.m., threw me in the lake, and said foolish things repeatedly like, "eat a sand," and I woke up to the fire alarm at 5 a.m., got thrown in the lake, and endured foolish things being said repeatedly like, "eat a sand." All around, a rowdy good time.

--went to the Boundary Waters with the family, where an elementary school crush drunkenly confessed his love. I stole a "friends of NRA" poster from the bowling alley, split a bottle of five-dollar wine with my sister, and got caught skinny dipping by aforementioned elementary school crush's embarrassed parents. Not necessarily in that order.

--went to California to live in a bungalow beach hideaway with Sierra and Suzy for a week. Got a righteous tan entirely above my waist, overcame my fear of unseen creatures of the deep, drank half the ocean through my nose, watched "Barbarella" and "Anne of Green Gables" on laser disk, and ate a lifetime's worth of reese's peanut butter cups.

--worked at my favorite candy store every moment in between. Had dance parties when it wasn't busy, only got caught twice, alphabetized the extra stock of jelly beans, and received a lecture on love from a customer named "Meddi" who bought a pound of fruit slices and tipped me with a ferrero rocher.

--started a plethera of art projects; finished one; danced salsa with an unnamed stranger; developed, thanks to Johnny Depp, a superfluous number of pirate daydreams; and various other shenanigans with my bosom friends including but not limited to Mah Jongg and "The Lizzie McGuire Movie."

There's the basic idea.

___________________________________

I'm off to draw pictures and eventually stumble into bed. Did I tell you Chris Renk wants to put my poetry to music? I don't know about that, maybe it'd just give him a reason to stalk me. I wish my stomach would calm down--I think it's having an anxiety attack. Anticipating Sodexo... mmmm... I still can't believe Brian said what he said. I'm not going to do anything about it, but still. After all these years...?

Crazy, I found a fictional account I wrote when I was young and infatuated that was a similar scene, and I accurately predicted almost everything. Where we were sitting, how... just not the crowd of people around us and the fact that he was drunk and that I would actually have a healthy relationship! *shakes head* What a summer.

Kirk out.


Summer-summaries at 1:12 a.m.


previous ---- next