Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< Day 39 >


It seems like today has been longer than most. I didn't sleep at all Wednesday night, just went straight to work on Thursday and it was more or less a disappointment - not because I was tired, but because my lessons were poorly planned. As it turns out, I am going to have to work pretty hard for this job. At least I have excellent motivation, and what Ben said about taking the good with the bad has really helped.

Hardly slept on Thursday night. Slept enough to have one dream of fabulous full-body ecstacy followed by a dream in which I got raped in the presence of four men. Not fun.

Teaching this morning was mediocre, and someone randomly called me during my first class and my phone rang. How awful. On the lighter side of things, I got my care package from home containing 101 rags (thanks, Mom) and everything else minus the plug adaptor but plus JIF and some good lotion. Also got my USB flash drive today - had to pick it up at Poste Pyren�es so I got to check out the Basilique St. Paul-Serge, Rue 3 Nourrices, and the garden there which is much better than I'd originally thought. Slept for a while and made a huge mess of the apartment. MY wallet is fixed, but my curtain fell down again. Had half-assed raclette and expired salad for dinner, then on impulse decided to suck it up and go out for a drink with Will and the gang before bed. As it turned out, a drink meant elaborate dinner party and LOTS of wine and spirits at Laurent's house until 1:30. It was very fun to be with the group, though I felt totally unsophisticated. Had fun conversations with Jessica; Will and Laurent are hilarious together, Wilson's impressions of the girls nearly broke me with laughter, and the food was amazing - I ended up with two huge dinners. I ended up in the kitchen with Laurent for a while talking about the Auld Alliance (1295) and French literature and I wonder if he took a little fancy to me. Jessica, bless her, mentions my copain back home. I hope it's just his woman-loving French ways, and I have good reason to believe that, but he had me taste everything he was cooking and kept insisting on my drinking rare and exotic things, gave me a book he insisted that I read and talk to him about, offered to teach me Italian... No touching, though, hooray! Listening to Jeff Buckley made me want to cry and I had some trouble getting away when they went to the bar (Kate helped), but I'm starting to really love this group.

Still no word from K.


Bathtub novels are top-sellers at 6:30 p.m.


previous ---- next