Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< Day 44 >


Dreams last night: That the very start of Hugh Heffner's career was because of some coffee, a sunny blonde lifeguard in a yellow one-piece bathing suit, and a Bollywood style musical number. Also, having someone give me a back rub and then exclaim over how toned my ass is. Talk about subconscious vanity.

I slept in disgustingly late today after some photo taking before 8. K called last night at midnight and we talked for like two hours. It was so awesome. A bit of an awkward goodbye, but otherwise great. He got hit by a car over the weekend. He's getting his passport and selling his body to science! I think he's actually going to come visit... Then perhaps we shall see what this is all about.

I've been having anxieties about not being capable of providing an acceptable education for all these kids--I am accountable for over 200 brains here! Eep. I gave my two older Thursday classes a little survey and asked what they remembered learning about, what they wanted to learn this year. I couldn't believe how many kids wrote about Star Wars! Perplexed, I asked to look at one of their notebooks from last year. Sure enough, there was an incomprehensible page under the title "Star Wars" with a flow chart of characters and the words: young, in love (Padm� and Anakin), black clothes, evil, strong, good, father, and "the dark side of the forse [sic]." The thing is, some of the kids remembered doing Star Wars, but a few wrote that they wanted to learn about Star Wars and what I don't know is whether they are trying to cheat me into covering something they already know or whether they are really just that into Star Wars. Have you run into any problems like this?

Thankfully, these surveys also indicated to me that I have a few good luck charm students. I asked them to write at the end something they like to do, just so I could get an idea of their interests. One girl wrote: "I really like learning to speak this language by listening carefully to Miss Spies." Good Lord.

I have just realized that the time I have left here is approximately equal to what would actually be a month of Sundays, given that a month might have 31 days, and each Sunday represents one week.


Science, you have no musical ear at 6:43 p.m.


previous ---- next