Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 22 May 2003 >


Wow, this is the first time I've posted from a lab at school! Today is officially Tara's birthday. Happy Birthday, Quazo! Hope you are having a blast in Mexico!

So Hillary said she might come visit today but I still haven't heard from her even though I called her like 6 bajillion times.

I'm kind of excited because all three of my best friends from IC have contacted me in like the last two days. I was so worried before, you know, about not getting to see them or talk to them or get along or anything. I've even been in pretty consistent contact with Sara. But, yeah, things are a little rough. Zoe's mom has cancer. It's weird because I really wanted to cry when I was reading her e-mail about it but I couldn't because I was just so happy to be hearing from her. I think if I really do lose touch with her it's going to pretty cleanly break my heart. Please, God, let Pam be okay. You saved Darcy, now just do it one more time.

So Zoe is home from Senegal and she'll be staying in town for the whole summer to be with her family while her mom goes through chemo. I'm sad for her that she's not going to be able to do the language camp job, but I think she's right in staying home. She called me last night and we talked about a lot of things. I feel like maybe she felt good about talking to me. I would like that. She's a little worried about what she's going to do next school year. I'm pretty sure Pam will want her to go back. I really hope we're good to our word and hang out over the summer. Even Tara sounds enthusiastic about it. It will be such a monumental relief to have the four of us back together.

Let's see, what else? Yesterday was Wednesday... I went to EdStudies at Cowling and did an "exercise" where I pretended to be a shaking semi and then saw Anna's butt because her thong was too high and her pants were too low. It was kind of funny. Her tatoo has really pretty colors. I actually survived my Latin quiz even though I didn't study and I was craving macaroni and cheese the whole time. (Hurry, Annie's, please hurry!) French class was pretty fun and Katie was laughing about my hotwheels slippers because I was all hyped up on my inhaler so I kept rolling them back and forth. Oh yeah I went to the Wellness Center about my stupid cough and was there for all of 5 minutes before she prescribed this antibiotic and an inhaler. I'm a little worried that it's screwing up my system, but whatever; I shouldn't be that paranoid. I just wish it weren't interfering with the function of my birth control. Dumb body. Oh, so my inhaler is albuterol which they used to give to race horses to make them run faster but then it became illegal so now I am sucking it into my lungs through an aerosol can. Wow, I love modern medicine.

Um um um... I wrote a poem yesterday that I really like. Maybe I will post it. I gave the only clean copy to Theo because he prompted it. I think he liked it; he asked me to read it aloud to him last night. We are so great for each other, seriously.

Work was cold because there was a big cloud over the sun right after I got there so I wove a basket out of this fuzzy grass I found by the fence around the water tower. I left it on a rock when I left, hoping someone would see it and think a fairy made it. The game was long and boring, except one guy laid out on somebody's bag and Eric L. was swearing about somebody stealing his new GOP disk. Yeah, yeah.

Before I went home I went to the Lilac maze and got lost but picked pretty flowers and had a grand ol' time by myself. It was super. I want to hang out there more often, maybe clear a little spot that's nice and open and secluded. With a couch.

I can't remember if I went to dinner or not. My computer is broken. After I talked to Zoe on the phone for about half a dick-year, I went to meet Theo at the last Hustler's show. It was super loud and I ordered an almond steamer that was SO way too strong but Mei was sitting on the bar and she talked to me and was super nice. She said she was excited that I am a French major and that she and Katie were talking about my slippers because she thinks they're really cute and about how the French assignment is hard because the Carleton library has nothing in terms of articles we need and I think maybe she forgot about the time I was crying and acting embarrassingly at the Wellness Center? PLEASE oh please. I like her so much. Except she's kind of like my sister in that I will never feel like her peer, I don't think. I mean, she has her own indie show. And cute glasses. And she speaks French. Ugh.

Last night in the 4th Goodhue hallway Abhinab smiled at me and my knees melted. Then I told Theo all about it. I hope he doesn't feel bad.

Can I think of anything else? I've been reading Rizpah and it's great because they were making all these awful jokes after she gave birth to Saul's baby. And I'm still thinking about writing my story but it's not really going anywhere. Maybe I should stick to actual fiction. Or actually do my homework. Or something.

Oh man, writing portfolio.

Who cares? It's Thursday and Hillary might be coming and I ordered a case of macaroni and the rain is good for the flowers and I might go to the sweat lodge on Friday and Hillary please come and Theo is the greatest person ever. And I love my roommates. And I think we should all hang out and go to the snackbar or something because I love them so.

The End.

P.S. I still haven't done laundry.


Long and random like my brain! at 11:46 a.m.


previous ---- next