Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 9 December, 2004 >


I intend to go to bed by midnight, so hold me to it.

Not much news today, I guess. I decided not to go to work until noon, which was fine by Phil. I called him this morning. I washed my hair in the tub and let it be curly-ish today, so that was fun. I didn't have much to do at work, for once, by the time Phil left. So I sat and daydreamed for a while, and made assorted boxes of chocolates. While he was still there, though, I met Nick, a new guy working out at the warehouse. He'd come to help haul restock in to the store. Phil was barking at spitfire speed about something as usual and Nick did the unthinkable... Somewhere between Phil giving me eight things to do at once and harping about the absence of some bubble gum candy canes, a mumble...barely audible from the cupboards under the chocolate bar rack... Phil's eyes flashed and he whipped around to face Nick. "WHAT DID YOU SAY??" Nick: "Chill out, Phil." Oh, the audacity! The audacity! It's against his nature!, the poor man... There were several moments's silence as we all mentally stuttered, trying to grasp what universal truth had been breached, waiting in breathless agony to see how Phil would react. "Good thing you don't work at the store!" he grunts, turning back to a basket of gummi sea creatures, reassuring them that they are worth every calorie of his manic attention.

Everyone breathes a sigh of relief, and chuckles in wonder.

At the end of the day, I bought some tape, and Dad came to carpool with me home. I wore my bathrobe and glasses this morning when I drove him to work. Following the trend this week, I got home from work and ate enough to feed my entire family. We ordered pizza from Sam's, so I made them get a humongo party-sized one. I finished it off.

Got an e-mail from Tal which says we might get to see each other after Christmas, and he reminded me that four years ago he said he'd take me to the see the pyramids. Cuh-yoot! Also, Jeremy called our room (so he talked to Theo) asking for my phone number. Perhaps I will be seeing him too before classes start again!

Wow, this is sounding like sixth grade...

Talking to Eric about how he looks like a hobo made me miss playing in big cardboard boxes. Maybe I will steal some from work and construct a secret fort. Remember that plan I had for building a cardboard castle!? Man, that was awesome... And I think i still have it in my desk. It is on wide-ruled paper, and I used a blue colored-pencil for the fabric moat. I ended up using that fabric for my Halloween costume in 97. How is it possible that so much time has passed since i started remembering things?

Now Fuzzy is nuzzling under my chin, which means it is time to read something silly and go to bed for a full night's rest. Sweet dreams, everybody. Tomorrow it's off to Northfield...


Hiding in corrugated comfort at 11:19 p.m.


previous ---- next