Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 10 December 2004 >


Today was reunion day at Sweets & Treats. Not only did I see Matt Cover pass by the window, but Medi (my favorite regular customer from years past) came in and joked around with me and Jess and then who should show up but Phillis H. from high school! She looks very similar, except without the coke-bottle glasses making her eyes enormous and mysterious and hypnotic. She had a wedding ring on. The rumor in high school was that she was engaged to a Spanish exchange student... Maybe it was true after all.

A woman came in buying licorice and she and I talked about North Carolina. At the airport, she told me, a security man asked for some identification. She gave him a VISA card with her picture on it. Requiring her driver's license, he then prompted, "Now, show me the ugly one."

I love the sound that pistachios make when you pour them onto one another in great quantities. I noticed today that they are shaped like the bells on Indian clothing--round and cracked like a pod of cotton. I wonder if those bells were modeled after pistachios, or something like them. I might make a pistachio bell bracelet. But first I should find the unsalted variety.

And oh my goodness Hannah Callaway has listed me as a friend on facebook and she is friends with Mei and oh my!

*pouts* I wish I could really be excited about that. But I'm too nervous about this weekend.

Here I go, to the north. The only way to get tiger cubs is to go into the tiger's den.


Predeparture going away party for when I leave at 3:22 p.m.


previous ---- next