Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 22 March 2003 >


Oh! Yesterday I went to Hannah's house. Her stairs are caving in because they're made out of particle board. Her room has red curtains, and it makes it look really fun. We burned incense and listened to crazy music and she gave me presents like a purse and a sticker and a book to read and I watched her smoke pot and we talked about how things would be weird after sex with your roommates (that's happened to her a few times) and then we went to the library. I spent 45 minutes looking for an embroidery book and these violet recipes and didn't find anything!! I was unsatisfied. (Later I found my recipes at home.) Then we went to the tobacco bowl so I could buy her some coffee. I met some really cool people like Lincoln who plays in a band called Obscure. I saw Judd sitting with a girl making faces at me. I sat at the other end of the cafe. Hannah and I played chess. She kept leaving to talk to other people and go get food and wander around. I told her that playing chess with her was like living with a bad lover, with me always anticipating her leaving me for good. Mike Westin told me I should kick her ass at the game. I remember when he beat me up in elementary school. We sat at a table with this guy with great purple hair and an aquiline nose who talked like Bill and Ted from Bill and Ted's excellent adventure. He was drinking tea, and he looked like my cousin Tim all grown up. He said his name was Tim. He was quiet most of the time, or wandering in his ripped jeans, but once he told me the best name for a band. At least he tried to, but at first he couldn't remember it. I can't remember it now; it was really long. He said one other thing before he left.

Tim: "Man, all of a sudden I feel like getting all my shit together and going to college."

Me: "That must be really good tea."

Evan came in while Hannah was out buying a sandwich and I invited him to sit with us. He was quiet and mentioned the digital poem about synesthesia he sent me over the winter. He had to leave to go work at Sweets and Treats with Phil. I'm glad I don't have to do that until the summer.

Also, I woke up three times last night with box elder bugs on my face.


Stoner punks in Iowa cafe tell all at 9:27 p.m.


previous ---- next