Newest Archives Profile Whispers Rings Host


I missed you!

It's never too late.

And I mean flushed in the non-bathroom sort of way

Weighing my pockets with stones of longing

Especially when those days are Saturday and Sunday.

They always come crawling back

< 25 March 2005 >


T-36 hours before I'm back in Minnesota. If I were wise or efficient, I would either be sleeping or sewing a skirt right now, but instead I'm nursing a Shirley Temple and watching cartoons.

I feel like spring break just slipped through my fingers. I lost my to do list upon arrival, so I didn't have much of a sense of direction for the last ten days, but it wasn't all for naught. I am now thoroughly attached to my new sewing machine, and managed at least to make that shirt I was planning on, even if I never get around to the skirts or dresses tomorrow. I got to see Tara, Hillary, and Zoe, and even Kim! Zoe had two friends over; it was nice to see Liz again, and Nina was so cute... whoo! Fun to have new faces in addition to the golden oldies!

Time with Tara was very brief at the beginning, but still nice. Got caught up, sort of, on her guy situation, but I'm not convinced I will ever fully understand the juggling act she goes through. Nor will I remember all of their names.

Kim made me a beautiful Thai lunch but had to run off to capoeira; still, I saw her again at Zoe's, and that was spectacular. A raucous two hours if I do say so myself. We never got around to watching Kama Sutra, but I really don't think the conversation suffered.

The other night I took Hillary out to dinner at the Sanctuary, and it made me wonder why I didn't go there all the time in high school. A bit on the smoky side, but not seedy. Nice and dark with wooden booths... We downed a phenomenal pizza in about 15 minutes and talked about running off on a European excursion. After leaving a hefty tip for our punk-alternative side-character waiter, Hill bought me a peanut buster parfait (what more could a girl ask for?) and we played checkers at DQ. Saw Molly Gable at a glance, then hid in my hoodie because my face was bright red from laughing too hard. Did I mention that I love Hillary? Man, that was a fun night. Not too late either--she dropped me at home, and I did a jig in her headlights till she hollered at me from the road and drove away.

Yesterday I hennaed my feet, so I didn't move a whole lot while my parents were awake. Once they went to bed I crawled around, but my knees got all bruised. All in all it would have been scaldingly humiliating if we had security cameras, or company over, but seeing as we did not, I ended up with pretty mendhi stylized flowers blossoming under my tootsies.

In order to further avoid thinking about serious/scary future matters, I'm going to go back to reading "A Room With A View" until I'm too tired to hold the book open. Then, hopefully, I will be able to sleep... oh phooey. Sealab is on...

*sigh* My life is so difficult.


Thank goodness I've already seen this episode at 1:24 a.m.


previous ---- next